Office of the Councelors

The Town Clerk subsequently reports to the Councilors. As part of the council, councilors guide the development of local policies, set service standards and priorities, and monitor the performance of the municipality. Council made out of 8 Councilors including the Mayor governs the city of Matsapha. All Councilors are democratically elected by residents from all the 5 municipal wards with each ward electing its Councilor. The term of office for all Councilors is five years after which the city goes back to the polls to elect the next Council. The elections are governed by the Elections Regulations as amended in 1998.

Councilors Structure:

Structure loading...

Councilors’ responsibilities include:

⚊ Strategic planning for the whole municipality and a sustainable future
⚊ Determining the financial strategy and allocating resources via the council budget
⚊ Representing ratepayers and residents
⚊ Advocating on a broad range of issues
⚊ Liaising and coordinating with other levels of government, non-government, community groups and the private sector
⚊ Overseeing the management of community assets
⚊ Facilitating community participation
⚊ Managing the relationship with, and employment of, the chief executive officer.
Names of Councilors:

His Lordship The Mayor of Matsapha Town Council

⚊ Nkhanyeti Ngwenya

The Mayor of Matsapha Town Council.