Matsapha Logo

Office of the Councillors

Ministry of Housing and Urban Development

As Municipality, Matsapha Town Council does not work in isolation since the overall existence of the municipality is solely for realization of the mandate of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development. The ministry provides guidance which contributes immensely to the progress that the town has made since.

The Town Clerk subsequently reports to the Councilors. As part of the council, councilors guide the development of local policies, set service standards and priorities, and monitor the performance of the municipality. Council made out of 8 Councilors including the Mayor governs the city of Matsapha. All Councilors are democratically elected by residents from all the 5 municipal wards with each ward electing its Councilor. The term of office for all Councilors is five years after which the city goes back to the polls to elect the next Council. The elections are governed by the Elections Regulations as amended in 1998.

The Councillors

Councillors’ primary role is to represent the community flagging out all concerns and suggestions made by the people in the town. Councillors provide a bridge between the community and the council during council meetings. The prime goal for this representation is to promote the welfare and interests of the municipality as the town’s overseer.

The municipality has a total of 8 Councillors, 5 of which were elected by residents and 3 appointed at a ministerial level. The current councillors are:

Councillors’ responsibilities include:

  • Strategic planning for the whole municipality and a sustainable future
  • Determining the financial strategy and allocating resources via the council budget
  • Representing ratepayers and residents
  • Advocating on a broad range of issues


  • Liaising and coordinating with other levels of government, non-government, community groups and the private sector
  • Overseeing the management of community assets
  • Facilitating community participation
  • Managing the relationship with, and employment of, the chief executive officer.